Feeling Superstitious?

I’m pleased to share that Midnight Tide Publishing has setup a Kickstarter for Emporium of Superstition – a collective anthology of horror and dark fantasy tales based on superstitions.

Pledge tiers include everything from getting a personal acknowledgement in the book to incredible swag like bookmarks, horror themed candles, and a custom art piece to be commissioned from my sister and partner in crime Kelley M. Frank (https://morbidsmile.com/).

About the Book

Having gotten the privilege to have helped beta read one of the stories in this anthology, let me tell you it is dark, disturbing, and spooky! Perfect for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill and American Horror Story. Here is the synopsis:

Heed the warnings, or you could be next.

A society of Old Wives’ comes together in this collection of suspenseful stories. In between these pages, twelve authors draw on ancient tales your grandmothers warned you about. From demons living amongst humans, to ghosts lurking in the shadows, and even gods looming above, these recountings will surely inspire a fright.

Open the book, turn the page, for it may be the last thing you do.

Emporium of Superstition is an anthology full of superstition, suspense, and horror. If you love Survive the Night by Riley Seger, Stephen King, Joe Hill and American Horror Story, then you’ll not want to miss this thrilling collection.

But don’t take my word for it. This anthology has already gotten some incredible praise!

“This gorgeous, epic tome of dark fantasy and horror tales is absolutely unforgettable. Featuring established authors like Theresa Braun and Candace Robinson along with a number of promising newcomers, this book takes you on a journey through magic and the macabre. You don’t want to miss Emporium of Superstition. It’s sure to be one of the best anthologies of the year.” — Gwendolyn Kiste, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of The Rust Maidens and Reluctant Immortals

Stretch Goals

What I’m reeeally excited for are the stretch goals! The main goal on this Kickstarter is $800 to cover editing, marketing, cover art, and production costs. But if we can climb up to $1000, there will be additional stories included that revolve around superstitions! And if it gets over $1000, there will be a second drop of additional stories.

As one of the authors, I can’t tell you how hard it was to choose a superstition to tackle because there are so many fun ones. But I really hope we hit those stretch goals so I have an excuse to do it again!

Limited Time

Like every other Kickstarter, this only runs for a limited time. And if we don’t hit our goal by July 7th, then nobody gets any cool swag, no spooky artwork gets made, and marketing for this book will be very limited. I really hope that doesn’t happen because this anthology is going to be amazing!

So please hop over and check out the pledge tiers and help us bring this beautiful, spooky book to life!

1657216800

  days

  hours  minutes  seconds

until

Days Left to Fund This Kickstarter

Holiday Book Sale

To celebrate the release of Undertow, my third solo short story release, I’m putting my other solo short stories on sale for the holiday season!

This year has been an experimental journey in indie publishing, and I’ve learned so much along the way. I released my first self-published short story collection in October (The Impostor and Other Dark Tales) and I released Undertow yesterday. It’s been a difficult learning process at times, but I’m loving the freedom of being able to control pricing on my books even if it does take a lot of work on the backend.

Night Feeders is a weird western horror short story close to my heart. I do have a couple of drafts for a series of novels to continue this world, but they’ve been stuck in limbo for a few years. I hope to dust them off at some point and get them published, but Night Feeders would be the prequel to that series.

The Mysterious Disappearance of Charlene Kerringer is a love letter to film noir, only with fantasy humor mixed in. There’s something about a hardboiled detective having to deal with fantasy creatures that was a lot of fun to tackle. This is a standalone piece, but one that I had a blast writing.

For a limited time, you can grab both for only $0.99 wherever ebooks are sold! So grab your copy while you can!

Happy Holidays!

Night Feeders

There’s a bad sheriff in town.

It’s a dangerous existence living out in the Old West, but it’s even worse for supernatural entities. When a brothel of concerned vampires reaches out to the Agency for the Betterment of Supernatural Creatures for help, werewolf detective Colton Fen steps in to solve a disappearance.

Sheriff Ritters keeps a ghastly group of monsters underground to keep the impoverished people of Clarkville in line. Anyone foolish enough to cross his path is thrown to the creatures. Even werewolf detective Colton Fen might be out-matched by this vicious murderer.

The Mysterious Disappearance of Charlene Kerringer

A satirical take on a noir detective story, filled with talking babies, bizarre magic, and troublesome trolls.

Detective Harris is a private detective who is out of luck and out of cash. When a woman walks into his office in tears, he decides to take a gamble on what he assumes is an open and shut case. What he doesn’t realize is that nothing about this case is normal.

Happy Release Day to Undertow

June has always been in motion. She’s never satisfied with a place for long, so she’s always moving and never content. Even her love life is a maelstrom, leaving behind a long list of lovers. After years of searching for a sense of belonging, she is drawn to the ocean waters near Leekston. She convinces Jeremy, a wealthy young playboy with a yacht, to take her out to the cold open waters.

She hopes to find answers, but Jeremy expects compensation for his trip and something watches in the deep waters. They are not alone.

Happy Cover Reveal to Emporium of Superstition

I’m so thrilled to share this gorgeous cover for Emporium of Superstition! I am so excited to be part of this anthology alongside so many talented authors, and I am absolutely blown away by this gorgeous cover!

Emporium of Superstition

Heed the warnings, or you could be next.

A society of Old Wives’ comes together in this collection of suspenseful stories. In between these pages, twelve authors draw on ancient tales your grandmothers warned you about. From demons living amongst humans, to ghosts lurking in the shadows, and even gods looming above, these recountings will surely inspire a fright.

Open the book, turn the page, for it may be the last thing you do.

Emporium of Superstition is an anthology full of superstition, suspense, and horror. If you love Survive the Night by Riley Seger, Stephen King, Joe Hill and American Horror Story, then you’ll not want to miss this thrilling collection.

Releases: October 5, 2022

Pre-Order Today: https://books2read.com/u/boaR19

Add on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/58744204-emporium-of-superstition

Undertow: A Short Story

Undertow was inspired by an anthology call about great ocean monsters. Even though the anthology was filled before I was even able to write the story (it was a popular call!), I still found that the story itself wouldn’t leave me alone. So I thought I would squeeze in one last release for the year!

I love that self publishing has given me the ability to come up with a story idea, write it, edit it, edit it some more, and then get a cover done and have it turned around ready to release in a matter of weeks. This has completely changed how I look at my writing, and I’m grateful for it!

If you’ve ever been on the ocean and looked out at the dark seas with a cold wind in your hair and wondered what could be hiding beneath the surface, then this story is for you. I have always been fascinated by the ocean, and this story let me explore that love.

Features sea creatures, cold ocean waves, cheap bathrobes, and some very weird monsters, Undertow: A Short Story is now available to pre-order. Release day is December 15th.

UNDERTOW: A SHORT STORY

June has always been in motion. She’s never satisfied with a place for long, so she’s always moving and never content. Even her love life is a maelstrom, leaving behind a long list of lovers. After years of searching for a sense of belonging, she is drawn to the ocean waters near Leekston. She convinces Jeremy, a wealthy young playboy with a yacht, to take her out to the cold open waters.

She hopes to find answers, but Jeremy expects compensation for his trip and something watches in the deep waters. They are not alone.

Splashes onto bookshelves December 15th.