The Mysterious Disappearance of Charlene Kerringer — Now in Audio

This strange noir mystery short story may have only been released as a solo ebook in November 2019, but this story actually has quite a history. This story was entered into a competition back in 2012 with a publisher who is no longer active. It came in as a semi-finalist, the first award I ever received for my writing. It was ultimately published twice by them in two editions. Once as part of the anthology, RealLies, which you still might be able to find in print somewhere. Then again as a standalone story. I almost ended up having a novel of mine published with them, but then negotiations fell apart and ultimately the publisher closed its doors.

Long story short, the rights came back to me. For the longest time I didn’t know what I wanted to do with it. At almost 10,000 words, it was too long to really submit to most short story calls and it was far too unique to really fit into an anthology of my own work. Trolls that change form, a film noir style, and a hard boiled detective story surrounded with sarcasm and a dry sense of humor, it had a hard time fitting in anywhere.

Then in November 2019, I got curious about independent publishing. I was sad that this weird and funny story was gathering dust on my computer and I didn’t like that I associated it with its previous publisher. It needed a new place to call home but was far too strange to fit in anywhere. So I decided to self publish it.

Now I’m happy to announce that it is available in AI audiobook format, free to listen to in its entirety on Youtube. For the first time in ten years, it’s available in an audiobook format.

Rest assured, it’s still a strange and has a very dry sense of humor, but I’ll always have a soft spot for it. I hope you’ll take an hour and give it a listen, if you’re okay with trolls speaking with an AI voice!

Night Feeders is Now Available as an AI Audiobook

For years I’ve struggled to produce audiobooks for many of my stories due to the high price point. Especially for my shorter works. This has been frustrating since I know I have readers who prefer some form of audiobook over ebooks. It’s always been an accessibility issue that’s bothered me. It can exclude readers with eyesight issues or those who are uncomfortable with ebooks.

I’m happy to share that with the power of Google AI, I finally have the chance to get many stories into audiobook format that never would have had the chance before such as Night Feeders.

I admit I listen to a lot of AI audio on YouTube. Spooky Reddit stories are some of my favorite late night content when I want entertaining background noise. I’ve gotten accustomed to AI voices reading stories. When I found out that this was an option and other authors were doing this too, I knew I had to join in.

I’m happy to share that I now have my first AI read audiobook up on YouTube with my short story, Night Feeders! It’s also available on Google Play for the same price as the ebook. I plan to have it on my Ko-Fi shop and possibly Kobo too.

Look for more AI audiobooks to be posted up on YouTube soon. Be sure to Like, Share, and Subscribe so you don’t miss them!

Happy Release Day to A Beautiful Specimen

Every year I try to release a standalone short story that is more on the weird/bizarre side of horror. Sometimes it turns into a story about a woman out on the open sea trying to find answers to her mysterious past. And other times it turns into a horror scifi piece that definitely leans into the bizarre.

Inspired by the femme fatale stories I’ve loved and the disturbing science fiction stories out there, A Beautiful Specimen follows a woman with a dangerous secret.

A Beautiful Specimen

On one of the upper floors of an apartment complex downtown, Alice keeps a secret. It isn’t hidden in a closet or in a dresser drawer, but in a spacious bathtub. As she comes home from a long day of work and hangs up her keys, she hears it thumping against the porcelain in anticipation of her return.

Alice isn’t at all what she seems. Worse yet, she’s ready to move to the next stage.

Now available at your favorite online retailer for only $0.99.

Emporium Sale, Catstruck, and a New Short Story

October sure got away from me! After having some sort of event or show every weekend and followed up with a manuscript deadline, I’m just now getting back online again and doing more besides lurking! I’ve got several announcements and sales to share.

First up, it’s the start of a big 99cent sale for Emporium of Superstition! We were fortunate to nab a Bookbub promo for this beast of an anthology, and now readers get the benefit! This anthology of all-women horror authors was a big hit at Multiverse Con last month, I was only two copies away from selling out. Every story is based around a superstition, some more well known than others. This almost 600-page book is going to be on sale for a limited time, so grab it while you can.

Emporium of Superstition

Heed the warnings, or you could be next.

A society of Old Wives’ comes together in this collection of suspenseful stories. In between these pages, twelve authors draw on ancient tales your grandmothers warned you about. From demons living amongst humans, to ghosts lurking in the shadows, and even gods looming above, these recountings will surely inspire a fright.

Open the book, turn the page, for it may be the last thing you do.

Next up, Catstruck! I’m thrilled to share that Catstruck is now out in the world. Every story features cats from fantasy to horror to mystery. So there really is a story for everyone! The proceeds from this anthology are all donated to Tenth Life Cat Rescue. They provide veterinary care, foster homes, and adoptive placement to stray cats and kittens, prioritizing those with special needs. My short story, “Protector of Dreams”, features Mawr from the Stolen series and features a very unusual cat. The editor, Debbie Manber Kupfer, enjoyed my story so much that she chose it to read it at an event recently. And my goodness she did such a good job! Go give it a listen, it’s the first story on the episode.

Catstruck!

“Perhaps one reason we are fascinated by cats is because such a small animal can contain so much independence, dignity, and freedom of spirit.” Lloyd Alexander

Delve into the world of all things feline in this anthology of tales of whimsy, courage and wonder.

“Protector of Dreams” read by Debbie Manber Kupfer

Finally, I have a new standalone short story coming out this month! I always try to release one as a standalone because I personally love reading short fiction like that. As an author, gives me the space to be super experimental, weird, and explore some dark themes. This one is a sexy weird horror scifi. See what I meant about experimental?

A Beautiful Specimen

On one of the upper floors of an apartment complex downtown, Alice keeps a secret. It isn’t hidden in a closet or in a dresser drawer, but in a spacious bathtub. As she comes home from a long day of work and hangs up her keys, she hears it thumping against the porcelain in anticipation of her return.

Alice isn’t at all what she seems. Worse yet, she’s ready to move to the next stage.

A Beautiful Specimen releases on 11/15 and is now available to pre-order for only $0.99!

Feeling Superstitious?

I’m pleased to share that Midnight Tide Publishing has setup a Kickstarter for Emporium of Superstition – a collective anthology of horror and dark fantasy tales based on superstitions.

Pledge tiers include everything from getting a personal acknowledgement in the book to incredible swag like bookmarks, horror themed candles, and a custom art piece to be commissioned from my sister and partner in crime Kelley M. Frank (https://morbidsmile.com/).

About the Book

Having gotten the privilege to have helped beta read one of the stories in this anthology, let me tell you it is dark, disturbing, and spooky! Perfect for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill and American Horror Story. Here is the synopsis:

Heed the warnings, or you could be next.

A society of Old Wives’ comes together in this collection of suspenseful stories. In between these pages, twelve authors draw on ancient tales your grandmothers warned you about. From demons living amongst humans, to ghosts lurking in the shadows, and even gods looming above, these recountings will surely inspire a fright.

Open the book, turn the page, for it may be the last thing you do.

Emporium of Superstition is an anthology full of superstition, suspense, and horror. If you love Survive the Night by Riley Seger, Stephen King, Joe Hill and American Horror Story, then you’ll not want to miss this thrilling collection.

But don’t take my word for it. This anthology has already gotten some incredible praise!

“This gorgeous, epic tome of dark fantasy and horror tales is absolutely unforgettable. Featuring established authors like Theresa Braun and Candace Robinson along with a number of promising newcomers, this book takes you on a journey through magic and the macabre. You don’t want to miss Emporium of Superstition. It’s sure to be one of the best anthologies of the year.” — Gwendolyn Kiste, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of The Rust Maidens and Reluctant Immortals

Stretch Goals

What I’m reeeally excited for are the stretch goals! The main goal on this Kickstarter is $800 to cover editing, marketing, cover art, and production costs. But if we can climb up to $1000, there will be additional stories included that revolve around superstitions! And if it gets over $1000, there will be a second drop of additional stories.

As one of the authors, I can’t tell you how hard it was to choose a superstition to tackle because there are so many fun ones. But I really hope we hit those stretch goals so I have an excuse to do it again!

Limited Time

Like every other Kickstarter, this only runs for a limited time. And if we don’t hit our goal by July 7th, then nobody gets any cool swag, no spooky artwork gets made, and marketing for this book will be very limited. I really hope that doesn’t happen because this anthology is going to be amazing!

So please hop over and check out the pledge tiers and help us bring this beautiful, spooky book to life!

1657216800

  days

  hours  minutes  seconds

until

Days Left to Fund This Kickstarter