About Me

I write about strange creatures. Typically they shouldn’t exist, or they have bled through from a different reality, or they’re pretending to be a crying baby in a crib. Sometimes that lands my stories in horror and other times in fantasy, but there’s always an air of strangeness to my tales. If you want to get a better feel for what I’m talking about, check out a few clips or read a few drabbles.

LenaDressFace

My work has appeared in a spattering of short story collections, but I do have a few novellas and novels in the pipeline. Other than talking about writing, I also talk about cryptozoology, werewolves, wildlife conservation, and of course kitties. I’ve also been known to nerd out about Batman and The Hobbit, and have recently discovered the cracktastic fun of Black Butler cosplay, so there will likely be more of these incidents.

By day I work as an IT professional, so I’ll occasionally talk about tech issues like finding the right theme.

Latest Releases

  • Stolen, Book 1 of a YA Fantasy series, a portal fantasy series in the vein of Labyrinth and Return to Oz, was published January 22, 2019 with Parliament House Publishing.
  • The She-Wolf of Kanta, a YA Horror novella featuring a dystopian world with werewolves and steampunk elements, was published April 17, 2018 with Aurelia Leo Press.

Memberships

Awards & Recognition

  • On release day, Stolen made it onto the Amazon Bestseller category for Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, & Myths.
  • “The Mysterious Disappearance of Charlene Kerringer”, a fantasy noir detective piece, was a semi-finalist in The Zharmae Publishing Press’ Spring 2012 Writer’s Competition.
  • “The Sky is Falling”, a steampunk short story inspired by the Chicken Little tale, was included in Pink Narcissus Press’ Rapunzel’s Daughters. The anthology was named an Editor’s Choice title by Independent Publisher Online. 2011.

Contact Information

Feel free to use the Contact Form or send me an email at marlena.frank@outlook.com

5 thoughts on “About Me

Leave a Reply to nananettie1969 Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.